Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    unrooted

Bike Magazine Slams Pressfit BBs

Did anyone else read the newest (december 13) issue of Bike Magazine???

They have 5 editors build their dream bike, two of them picked bikes that have pressfit bottom brackets and talk about how horrible they are. . .

I hope they industry pays attention, I certainly won't buy one until the day that zero bikes have threaded bottom brackets.
    195 lbs-6'4" Banshee Prime XL
    Ride Mammoth, Tahoe & Vegas

PLEASE GIVE ME NEGATIVE REP!

mtbr member
    What is so bad about them? It's a freaking bottom bracket. I have one and have had zero issues.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    What is so bad about them? It's a freaking bottom bracket. I have one and have had zero issues.

Creaking. Worked in a shop this year and it seemed like certain bikes had creaking problems that would NEVER go away. Same guys were in every week complaining. mechs would pull the BB, clean the interface, and the noise would be gone for the moment only for the bike to be making noise again a week or two later as dirt got in.

Some people/bikes didn't seem to have problems. I don't know if it's because the riders were more tolerant of noises (we had a group of regular deaf riders who had to be told if their bikes were making too much noise), or if it was because those specific bikes just didn't have that issue. I suspect it's some of both. I am very sensitive to sounds and don't tolerate it on my bike.