mtbr member
    Feb 2007

aluminum riser bar recommendation

Hi, I'm a pretty heavy guy up top . after see my 175 lb friend break his 2007 EC70 seat post going off a curb, I've decided to stick to Aluminum. I have a 110 <>5 Degree 25.4 weyless stem I'm ok with it. But a nice Thomson X4 would be one of the last pieces to blingify my bike.

What OS or regular riser would you recommend?
    Is it worth changing to OS if I'm going to stick to ALU anyway?
    Are me fears of carbon justified?
    Will a big upsweep on the bar increase pressure on the outside of the hands?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Hey mate, to answer your questions....

For riser, I'd trust anything by Easton or Race Face...I bought Race Face because they're a Canadian Company, I like supporting Canadian (even if it might not necessarily be MADE in Canada), and also everyone and their brother seems to ride Easton.

They have to make bars oversized in the clamp area for a reason. For some reason when I bought my new stem and bar this summer I stuck to the standard size, but buying oversized won't hurt, aside from teh slight weight penalty.

No, your fears about carbon fibre are not justified. There is a test done by German Bike mag that can also be found on the Race Face website, shows that Carbon Fibre is actually STRONGER than alu bars. I guess early CF was more prone to breakage, so thus you have people afriad of CF now. As long as you're careful when mounting the bar to the stem, and your stuff to the bar, you should be fine. Me? I still went Alu