crankdango
    Sep 2013

To 29 single speed or not to 29 single speed? My first post.

I've been coming to MTBR since 1998. Even forgot the password to my old account and had to get a new login... first post in over a decade.

I just got back into mountain biking last year after taking 10 years off. I'm 42 now and ride more often than I did then. More discipline I guess. Up to 120 miles a week off-road and thanks to incentive from Strava I'm at 156 lbs. Half my weekly miles are on a cyclocross bike. I even ride the cross bike on single track to relish in the absurdity of it all. I decided to sell my 26" 2001 Klein Attitude Comp. I don't want to dump all the proceeds into the CX realm. I'm enjoying the roll on big wheels so I'm either going to get a 650b, a 29'er (seriously scoping the Airborne Goblin) or a single speed 29'er.

Some of the fastest guys in our area ride SS 29. All about strength. I like to burn and get out of the saddle on climbs, trying to use momentum instead of gears. This is especially helpful in CX on FSR's with quick switchbacks followed immediately by a climb. This has got me seriously considering the single speed world. Not sure if I'm turned on or off by the single speed crowd and the dresses at races and the novelty aspect of it all. Does anyone take SS seriously or I do I risk entering the fixie, hipster world of MTB?

Decisions... decisions.

mtbr member
    I think that having a SS is a great bike to have in your quiver. They are low maintenance, great for strength training, are extremely simple, and gives you another option.

I have a 29er SS rigid, that I also have a Reba for. I love the simplicity of not shifting gears. Not worrying about suspension settings. Just going out taking good lines and enjoying the ride. That being said, I also love my expensive, complex, full squish, but for different reasons.

mtbr member
    May 2010