mtbr member
    Oct 2011

2012 trance x3 or 2012 anthem x2 ????

whats up everyone . I need some input on which bike to get its between the trance x3 and the 29er anthem x2 . been riding for about a year now and feel iam just starting to get a good feel for my 05 trance 4 love the way it rides even with the stock fork , should i upgtrade to the 2012 trance x3 or would i b better off just getting the anthem x 2 29er .?

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    What type of riding are you planning on doing?

If single track I would probably go for the anthem but if your looking to do some super aggressive downhill stuff the Trance might be a better route.

I like the Anthem personally. If you've settled on Giant, I've always felt the XTC is looks pretty cool (never ridden one) but its a hard tail which does not seem to be what your looking for.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    for now mostly single track ,but like i said i am just getting started only been riding for a little over a yr ,and i love the technical stuff so thats 1 piont for the trance(lol) thanks for your responce

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I have an X1 Anthem and love it to bits, I tend to do XC only so fits the bill perfectly.

Depends on where you ride but for XC has to be Anthem any rougher and poss consider looking at Trance.

Best thing is rode both and see.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    How does your x1 anthem handle the 1 or 2 foot drops does it
    Feel alot diffrent then the 26 er does it take more of an effort to control
    The bike?

Tactical Nightmare
    I am a new '11 Anthem X 29er 2 owner, and I can say I love it! I mainly do XC, but there are some good, flowy downhills with some little kickers, and it tears it up going downhill. Certainly, it isn't the massive travel bike for hardcore downhill, but for the XC trails here in Oregon, it works great. Just my $.02 on the Anthem!
    "The true object of all human life is play" - GK Chesterton
    *2014 Giant Trance 27.5 1
    http://teamdirt.org/