mtbr member
    Feb 2006

X-caliber to Wahoo = same frame.

Reading the Trek-Fisher collection spec sheet it appears to me that they all have identical frames, sharing geometry , and also the Alfpa-Gold tubesets.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Yes, they are the same frame. I have a Mamba that is also the same. They descibe the x-cal as a race bike. The Wahoo could be a x-cal with the right stuff. I've changed out some of the things on my bike. I hope to get it better than the x-cal next year.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by trek1969 View Post
    Yes, they are the same frame. I have a Mamba that is also the same. They descibe the x-cal as a race bike. The Wahoo could be a x-cal with the right stuff. I've changed out some of the things on my bike. I hope to get it better than the x-cal next year.
    My wife has a like new 2012 Wahoo I bought off craigslist for less than half new retail. I suspect the college girl who sold her dad's purchase caught the wrath of parenteral anger on that move, lol.
    I have put a LX compact crank, XT nine speed shifters, left the derailleurs as they work great with the XT shifters and changed out Bar-Stem-grips. Working on sourcing light tires, and will build a light wheelset for her when I can source a good disk hubset. The Fork will be upgraded also, yet I suspect it will be the most expensive upgrade due to the 51 mm offset Fisher uses, and given that the geometry really works well currently I do want to mess with it. Perhaps a used RECON silver from somebody upgrading to a A grade fork............Does any of the online retailers sell G2 offset forks?

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    I'm sure the wife will enjoy the upgrades. Any racing in her future?

pedal pusher