mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Trek/Fisher Marlin or Mamba?

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to biking and mtbr forums and would first like to say that I've already learned a lot from reading your postings. Great stuff!

I'm an avid tennis player who recently took up biking and trail riding as a cross-training alternative. I could use a new bike and recently demo'ed two Trek/Fisher models -- the 29er Marlin and Mamba. I was wondering if you believe the cost difference is worth the value (almost 50% more for the Mamba, $880 vs $600 for the Marlin).

Also, are bike prices generally negotiable? If so, how much should I pay for these bikes?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    I also recently have taken up biking and looked at the same two bikes. Both are nice but I ended up going with the Marlin. Its a very nice bike so far, I'm glad I got it. I don't know if there is a whole lot of difference in the 2 other than the price being the major one, but that was one of major parts of my decison being a beginner.

Good luck, I think you will like either of them.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Thanks Kingpin19 for your feedback. Glad to hear you're enjoying your Marlin!

I was just wondering if you can provide any feedback as to a fair price I should pay for this bike. Did you get a lower price than retail ($600)?

Thanks again!

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    It looks like the main difference between the two bikes is the suspension fork. I would expect the Tora on the Mamba to be smoother and less flexy than the Suntour fork on the Marlin, meaning the Tora should negotiate terrain better and have better performance through turns. So you need to ask yourself whether you want the nicer fork or the cheaper fork. Whichever way you go, you'll be getting a fun bike.
    2011 Trek Gary Fisher Collection Rig
    2007 Gary Fisher HKEK

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    No problem. No I paid $600 for mine.

mtbr member