mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Super Fly Frame Sizing Help

Hi,

I'm considering a Super Fly SS 29er. I'm about 5'8" with a measured 31.5" inseam. I'm leaning towards the Medium frame (17.5) but noticed that the ETT length is quite long, 602mm (23.7"). Is this frame too long for me? Should I be looking at the small?

I'm not sure how the Geo is suposed to be with a 29er

It seems the small is too small and the Medium is too large, if that makes any scense. I'm new to the SS and 29er craze, my current ride is a medium full squish Mojo SL (ETT 580mm, 22.8" with a 90mm stem) It feels ok. I moved my seat back abit and am considering a 100mm stem to be alittle more stretched out for some racing I've been getting into, if that matters.

Thanks for any help, I don't want to get involved with LBS people because I will get is differant opinions where ever I go.

It may be difficuilt to find a Med Super Fly this time of year to test drive.

Mojo

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    I'm leaning towards the Medium frame (17.5) but noticed that the ETT length is quite long, 602mm (23.7").
    don't worry too much about #s on a spec sheet. too many geometry variables that looking at one single variable does not always translate to reality.

Is this frame too long for me?
    no.

Should I be looking at the small?
    HELL NO.

I'm not sure how the Geo is suposed to be with a 29er
    my thinking is they have 5 sizes. the middle one, 19" is for the average height guy. i'm 5'9" and 19" fits me best. one size below 17.5" is for those who go on the small side or are a tad below average height / proportions. i will admit, it's no accident that the fishers come with big sweep handlebars which further reduce the reach to the handlebars.

It seems the small is too small and the Medium is too large
    is this based on spec sheet #s or actual back to back test rides?

I don't want to get involved with LBS people because I will get is differant opinions where ever I go.