mtbr member
    Dec 2006

Broken swing arm/08 hifi 29er?

Well the swing arm on my 08 hifi 29er deluxe broke right in front of the drop out for the wheel. My question is what can I expect for a replacement,an updated swing arm or one from a rumblefish any one hear what people have been giving as a replacement this late in 2010.Oh and I am the original owner and this is my first time I ever broke a bike so I have no idea what they (lbs) is going to give me.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Probably a new HiFi frame. I doubt they have any swingarms left to give you.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    So will everything transfer over to the new style frame.

Plastic homer
    Quote Originally Posted by bankofdad
    So will everything transfer over to the new style frame.
    Yeah, you have a G2 bike, so the fork works - they'll need to adapt for the taper in the head tube.

Everything else should go right over.

The cockpit will feel shorter, but climbing will be easier. Have a ball!

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Thanks,Moval49er for the info .

Plastic homer
    You bet - I broke my '08 and they promptly sent a new swing arm - no issue since.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    I am going to the shop tomorrow and will post how I made out,Does trek offer a deal on another bike vs giving you a frame.I ride mostly trails like this and would like a rummblefish instead another hifi

recovering roadie
    I think they offer you a deal of 20% any bike you want, or whatever replacement they offer you. I cracked a swingarm in May, and they sent me a new swingarm. A friend of mine cracked a swingarm in April, and they sent him a new 2010 frame. Didn't make any sense to me...

mtbr member
    May 2009