mtbr member
    Jul 2011

2010 Cobia, going rate?

Just curious if this is worth jumping on...

I was looking for a 2011 Mamba, so I called a dealer about 30 minutes away from me... they said they were out of my frame size for the Mamba but had a leftover 2010 Cobia. I asked him for a price on the leftover Cobia, and he said "probably like $150 off, so in the same ballpark as the Mamba". Well, the Mamba's (both 2011 and 2012) are going for about $769 currently after a rebate (I think $809 regular).

So I'm thinking about going in and offering $800 out the door.... or maybe less? He said the 2012's are on their way in, so I'd think they're itching to get it off their floor. The bike would also come with "lifetime adjustments", and when I asked if that included bleeding brakes (for the 2012 Mamba), he said it does not.... so I'm leaning towards the '11 Mamba (which they're out of) or the '10 Cobia just for ease of mechanical brakes (I'm a beginner and I'm used to them anyhow)

Also, anyone who has experience with any of the models listed, chime in please ... I'm thinking if I can get it for $800 out the door, maybe throw in a tire pump or something, I'll be a proud new Cobia owner.

JB1
    mtbr member
    Trek website shows the 2010 Cobia with hydro brakes (Promax Hornet). Chances are they cannot get you a 2011 Mamba beacause they are getting 2012's in, so that leaves you with the 2010 Cobia or the 2012 Mamba. IMO,the Cobia is better equiped. That being the case, the 2012 Mamba has hydros also (Shimano's), so you might have to get over your fear of hydro's either way. Or just sell the hydro's later and buy some BB'7's.

2010 Cobia
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/2010/archive/cobia

I hate that name.
    That link is the 2011. 2010 was an actual Gary Fisher: http://fisherbikes.com/bike/model/cobia If you can it for $800, go for it.
    Worked at Trek/Fisher dealer 2008-2013. Only a little biased.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011