mtbr member
    Sep 2008

Fuji Mt. Fuji Pro Frame

I've had mine for about a month and a half, and I was just wondering if anyone out there has been riding theirs for a significant length of time and can tell me anything about it. Specifically, I'm wondering about durability issues. I prefer XC style riding, but most trails include some descents, and I have to admit I'm a little unsure of how the carbon fiber will hold up. So far, it feels INCREDIBLE, and reminds me of the CroMoly bike I had when I was a kid, but I do get a little nervous anytime I drop more than 4 or 6 inches.

I'm pretty new to MTBing, but as I work in a bike shop, I figured that I may as well get myself something nice while I had the discount.

Single(Pivot)and Happy
    Why did you buy a bike if you believe there are durability issues? This makes no sense to me at all. How can you have fun and enjoy riding if you think your XC Race bike is going to fail under you?
    The suspension of your bike sucks if it's different than mine. Really. It sucks. Big time.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    I don't know anything specifically about the Fuji. But with carbon fiber you just need to be careful of abrasion. So be careful not to wreck it and scrape it against some big rocks. And make sure you do a good job of protecting it from chain slap/suck as this will chew up the chainstays fast. Other than that, carbon can be really strong and stand up to a lot of abuse. It can be much stronger than aluminum. So I wouldn't worry too much about durablity as long as your don't get any gouges in the carbon.
    2012 On One Whippet 650b
    2012 Santa Cruz TRc 650b
    2014 On One Dirty Disco
    2010 Soma Groove
    1987 Haro RS1

mtbr member
    Sep 2008