mtbr member
    May 2005

Fuji bikes vs. comparable? Fuji any good?

Newbie here. Have never really ridden and had this idea to start up riding.

I'm 34 5'8" 165 lbs and plan on doing mostly trail riding with the occasional jump (3-4') and don't expect to ride more than 1x every 2 weeks (have 2 little kids).

I have decided I want a full suspension bike and have been doing lots of research. My LBS carry Gary Fisher Sugar 4, Giant Trance 4, Trek Fuel 70, Specialized FSR XC, Cannondale Jekyll in the $1200 range.

Now I got quot for a Fuji Diamond Pro at $1200 or Diamond Comp at $825. Both are way below the price I can find on the internet or from other LBS. Here are links for both the pro and comp specs.

Diamond Pro

Diamond Comp

I also tried to upload a pdf file comparing all the bikes listed above, not sure if it worked or not until I submit.

Any response is appreciated.

Leon

mtbr member
    May 2005
    2nd try at attachment
    Attached Files Attached Files

Designated Bleeder

Fuji?

Leon,

As a general rule, Fuji does not make the best mountain bikes. They may have improved in the last few years but historically, they are not a mountain bike brand.

As for your choices you listed, those are all XC bikes and definitely not recommended for 3-4 foot jumps or drops. Enough of those drops and those XC bikes are going to start to crumble. So, its time to make a decision, would you rather go for a lighter bike and cool it on jumping or take the weight penalty and get a beefer bike with tougher components?

Of the bikes you mentioned, I would suggest either the Giant Trace 4 or the Specialized FSR XC for trail riding. The Jekyll will give you a bit more flexibility in terms of jumps and drops and the Trek Fuel and GF Sugar are purely XC bikes.

But more importantly, ride all those bikes and see what fits you best. Fit is always the most important thing. You're not going to ride your bike if you are uncomfortable on it...

mtbr member
    [QUOTE=SpecialK]Leon,