mtbr member
    Jan 2007

285lb Newbie... few Q's on GF, Ibex, Fuji

It has been a while since I have been a newbie at any of my hobbies but I'm excited to dig in and learn as much as I can. I am 26 and in grad school, rode a good deal of bmx until I was 16 but then got into cars and stuff. Just had a few questions on the following bikes. Most of my questions were answered using the search button but there is only so many times I can read a list of components and try and figure out a final decision. I pretty much have it narrowed down to the bikes below. I have looked at and read about the following along with Iron Horse, Forge, Trek, Giant, ect... so please just try and help me with my final choices UNLESS I have seriously missed something in my research. Looking to spend as close to $500 as possible no more than $600 out the door. I will be riding 10 minutes on campus back and forth to the gym and 2 miles back and forth to school when I move off campus. I plan to loose a good deal of weight using riding and definitely want to do light trails in and around Senecal Falls NY come spring. Not looking too upgrade anything on the bike for awhile, so its components will have to do. I do like the lockout front suspensions for road riding and think the discs are great too just not sure how necessary they are. Thanks for all the help, for all the posts I have already read and look forward to being part of the Mtbr community. -Ryan

I sat on a GF Marlin and really liked the feel, hoping to get to ride the Tass this weekend if the weather permits, also want to check out the specialized dealer too and make my final decision this weekend.

Gary Fisher Tassajara '06
    1.) Lbs has non disc version for 599... what is the most (w/tax) I should pay for it out the door?
    2.) What can I find a good set of disc brakes for online?

IBEX Alpine 550
    1.) Components compared to the Tass?

Fuji Nevada 1.0