Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    650b me

TIG welding vs fillet brazing

I'm very close to pulling the trigger on taking a framebuilding course, or possibly, going the self-taught route. I know the cost to get started with OA is considerably less than TIG welding.

For those of you that do/have done both, in your own words, how does the experience differ? What do you like/dislike about each? Is one skill more marketable than the other? I have taken a 2 day TIG welding course, but I've never brazed, so I'm curious how it compares.

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004

Similar skills

The basic idea of both processes is the same (heat in one hand, filler in the other) so the skills will transfer to a significant extent. Which doesn't really answer your question, I guess, but if you're paying money to take a class, I'd do TIG. I feel that getting basic competence in fillet is pretty easy once you can TIG, whereas the opposite might not be the case (hard to say, though - and I'm not bashing fillet brazing, just saying getting to a very basic level of ability is probably easier).

-Walt

Quote Originally Posted by golden boy View Post
    I'm very close to pulling the trigger on taking a framebuilding course, or possibly, going the self-taught route. I know the cost to get started with OA is considerably less than TIG welding.

For those of you that do/have done both, in your own words, how does the experience differ? What do you like/dislike about each? Is one skill more marketable than the other? I have taken a 2 day TIG welding course, but I've never brazed, so I'm curious how it compares.
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    TIG is hard but when you do a bad TIG it looks bad. With fillet brazing my fear is that you can in some cases produce a good looking result for a bad joint. I have very little experience with fillet brazing and frankly not all that much experience with TIG.