mtbr member
    Jun 2011

TIG Amperage Question

I am just getting started with my TIG practice and I am hoping to churn out a practice frame in the next few weeks. I have been practicing on test joints consisting of .049" thick tubing, but I have also been experimenting with welding 1/8 " tabs onto sections of tube as well to try and get a feel for how joining two pieces with a large difference in thickness together.

I know the rule of thumb for DC is 1 Amp for every .001" of material thickness that is being welded, but I was wondering what amperage to use as a starting point when welding two sections together that have very different thicknesses. Specifically, at the bottom bracket and headtube joints, shock mount tabs etc. Is the thinner material the determining factor in these cases or is it the thicker section? I reckon that the sweet spot may be somewhere in-between the amperages that would be best for joining each respective thickness, is this about right?

Also, I take it that it is a good idea to focus the arc towards the thicker piece's edge in the weld root?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    1) are you using pulse?
    2) what's your peak time?
    3 what's your background %?
    There's lots of settings that affect the amount of heat you put in a joint.
    Yes use more on the thicker section.
    I can say more when I know more.
    Kind of like the classic saying" You don't know what you don't know"
    cheers
    andy walker
    Walker Bicycle Company | | Walker Bicycle Company
    Flickr: afwalker's Photostream

mtbr member
    May 2011
    What machine are you using? It won't hurt to have the amperage on the high side and be light on the pedal to compensate. You want to have enough amps to immediately establish your puddle and then back it down from there. When welding two different thicknesses I aim the electrode slightly toward the thicker piece. Post up some practice pics and I'm sure you will get good advice.

mtbr member