mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Shoud a 36er pop my cherry?

I'm a mechanical engineer who loves to fiddle in the garage. I've been contemplating building my own frame. It would be on the sketch, without pricey jigs, and I'm undecided if I would use a tig welder or fillet braze. Definitely steel. Would you talk me out of making a 36er for my first frame? I can figure out what geometry I want and I think there is enough knowledge here to steer me in the right direction. Any reason a 36er would be more difficult than a 29er? FYI, I'm 6'4" so geometry shouldn't be too stupid.

Edit: I'd probalby buy a fork from Walt if you were wondering.

mtbr member
    It'll probably be trickier that something more run of the mill. But if you want to build a 36er, I think you should build a 36er.

WIGGLER
    Um....this is what I did after buying a custom bike from Retrotec and visiting Curtis's shop/house the bug bit hard and seeing a 36er (Keeners) and finally getting touch one at Outdoor Demo. I say touch because they wouldn't let us ride it (Blacksheep with a Gates belt drive) right then I knew it would be a 36er for my first bike!

Using straight gauge tubing makes it easier to build a large wheeled bike because the butted tubing offered isn't quite long enough to get around ,over or by without doing some compromising. You'll need to have or access to some tubing benders if you go this route though.

As far as a jig a home made 80/20 one wasn't that hard to build
    and it only cost about $400.00. To set up the jig I cheated just a little
    I used a 29er frame that I liked and just stretched the measurements.
    PAYASO 36er.....Live the Circus

Harrumph
    The thing with a 36er is off the shelf forks don't exist. And frame #1 isn't really the place to R&D a loooooong first built fork. I don't know your fab experience, but essentially you will need to build a fork..... Or give Walt some $, like I did/am doing.
    Slowly slipping to retrogrouchyness

mtbr member
    Nov 2008