mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Replace head tube?

I'm not much of a bike mechanic but i am an auto mechanic and a welder with access to just about any welding tools i could want and limited access to a machine shop. I had a giant iguana for the past 6 or 7 years. Just got into biking a lot in 07. I moved to Detroit and started using my bike to commute to class. Needless to say my bike was stolen. Lock cut and bike gone from out front of class.

A neighbor gave me an older schwinn frame for free and sold me a junk frame with a bunch of nice parts on it for $50. I planned on putting the good parts on the good frame. The good parts included:
    Rock Shox Judy XC front fork
    T gear crank
    shimano shift and brake pods
    nylon cables
    shimano draillers
    2 straight aluminum wheels
    front brake assembly

Well i tore down both bikes (except for removing the crank because i dont have a crank removal tool at the moment. Turns out the Rock Shox front fork has a 1 1/4" tube and the head tube on the schwinn frame is 1". I like the schwinn frame, its a good size and its simple. So i want to keep the frame. I also dont want to have to buy a new fork.

Has anyone welded a new head tube to a frame before? If so how did you go about doing it? what are somethings i need to watch for or any pointers you may have?

Is this a completly stupid project? looking for some insight.

How did you make a new head tube? machined? welded multiple pieces of tube? do people make head tubes?

Who turned out the lights
    I hate to tell you, but it will be way more work/risk/hassle than it's worth. When you cut the old head tube off, you will end up shortening both the top and down tubes. It will be pretty hard to keep your head tube angle/alignment correct without a jig of some sorts.

You also haven't mentioned if they are both steel or not.