mtbr member

RattleCAD on a Mac?

Anyone successfully use RattleCad on a Mac? Their forums make it sound like it's possible, but I can't make hide nor hair about how...
    "There are two kinds of mountain bikers in the world: those who are faster than me, and me."

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004
    Yes, you can run it. You will need to be moderately familiar with running stuff through Terminal (ie some very simple Unix) to make it work. Terminal (unless you have a VERY old Mac) is built into your operating system. Probably in the Apps/Utilities folder.

If this sounds like Greek to you, use BikeCAD instead.

-Walt
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    Yeah- I'm no Unix programmer, but I'm comfortable with Terminal. Still, I tried a couple of things I could find in their forums and support pages, but can't get it to work- was hoping somewhere here could post a quick/ easy tutorial.

I've played with BikeCad, and it's awesome, but the free version has a lot of limitations for the final steps of design/ planning/ cutting, etc. RattleCad seems to offer a little more for the free version- I'd pay for BikeCad, but it's just a little too expensive for a novice just beginning the process. $350 is just too steep. If the price were $225 or less, I'm guessing they'd get a lot more subscribers... but that's neither here nor there.
    "There are two kinds of mountain bikers in the world: those who are faster than me, and me."

Randomhead
    Sep 2008
    edited to note: sorry, got the wrong language on the brain
    Last edited by unterhausen; 10-25-2013 at 03:33 PM.

Most Delicious
    I just tried in on Snow Leopard:

1) download the zip
    2) unpack the zip by double clicking it in Finder
    3) open Terminal.app
    4) go into the unzipped directory with the 'cd' command. In my case it was:

cd Downloads/rattleCAD_3.3.06.36/

5) run the rattlecad.tcl file with 'sh':

sh rattlecad.tcl