mtbr member

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities

Frame number one hasn't put me in the hospital yet so I decided it was time to make another. I've been commuting for years on a 1985 Bridgestone 400 which I also used as my gravel grinder/winter ralleye whip. Despite it's awesomeness, it was a little long for me and it destroyed 1" headsets with ease riding washboarded roads.

I've been in a downsizing mode, so I wanted a bike that could do multiple things. I run disc fixed with a front hub as a rear hub so I needed to be able to fit a 42 tooth chainring up front with a relatively tight chainline...but I also thought it would be fun to build in clearance for mountain tires. Shown is the result with a more MTB build and lower gearing just to test before some finish work and painting.

CS length - 425mm
    BB drop - 60mm
    ETT - 540mm
    HTA - 69.5deg
    STA - 73.5deg

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3620.jpg

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3621.jpg

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3623.jpg

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3626.jpg

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3627.jpg

I didn't take many process pics, especially that came out well, but this one captured the essence of a late night of filing in the garage. Also, it shows my awesome workshop consisting of a bench built from my neighbor's cast off bathroom cabinet (yes, my jig is bigger than my work bench).

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities-100_3401.jpg

mtbr member
    May 2010

Number 2 - Fixed-Gear Commuter with MTB Abilities

I like it. Very cool.

mtbr member
    Nice, looks great!

I have almost the same bike. My second frame and old SS got converted to fixie townie duty. Makes commuting a lot more fun.

mtbr member
    I put some paint on number two and assembled it for commuter-gravel grinding mode. Somehow it seems much more legitimate with paint on it.