Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: My first frame

mtbr member

My first frame

For my first frame im pretty much mimicking my current trek/gf marlin (with a small adjustment to the HA) I have no experience with metal work and will be doing all of this under the close eye of a buddy of mine who has built about 8 or so frames. It'll have a 70.3ish HA with a RS reba RLT 29er g2(51mm offest) 16.75 CS with a just a smidge left with 2.35's.

Im using a Nova 29er tubeset, 35mm DT 969. Also got 700mm of thicker headtube since I thought the one from the set was kind of thin for my first build (and now i have head tubes for my next bikes)

I would comment on each photo but i dont know how to put text in between photos so i guess theyll all be as one, but here is my progress so far, please feel free to critique or give advice, id like to learn as much as possible.

Commence photo dump
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My first frame-2012-11-28_21-55-13_411.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-02_17-59-39_481.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-02_20-00-01_944.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-04_23-21-57_902.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-04_23-22-10_775.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-05_16-38-25_11.jpg  

My first frame-2012-12-05_16-38-48_592.jpg  

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Looks like a great start!
    Mark Farnsworth, Raleigh, NC
    http://farnsworthbikes.com

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004

More filler!

Great start!

Do some more practice joints. You've got waaay less filler there than I think you probably want (unless you're planning to add more once the DT is on) and you've got tons of high spots/low spots and probably plenty of voids you can't see. Braze a bunch of stuff together and make big, fat fillets until you can do it consistently without having half the filler run off away from the joint or onto the floor. Cut those practice joints in half and see how you did inside the fillet and tube as well.