mtbr member

My first brazed joint

So you guys inspired me to finally get my frame building project going. As I learned a lot lurking in this forum, I'll try to give back by sharing my experience. I'm no expert, but hopefully, my mistakes will help others!! For those interested, I posted in the "roll call" thread

So first things first, learning to braze! I've bough my torch set up this winter and have been through the "melting brass on a thick plate" to practice control heat and movements coordination. Yesterday, I completed my 1st thin walled tube on tube fillet braze. Nothing fancy, a short chromoly 25.4x1.2mm tube file mitered at 90 to a 38.1x2mm base tube. It was my first weld with paste flux and LFB rods. Products where bought from Cycle Design USA with which I had impeccable service and great advices (I'm in no way affiliated to him, just had a great customer experience).

All in all, the braze went pretty smoothly. I felt the flux paste got a little bit in the way to see the color of the steel being heated (compared to flux covered rod) but I guess I probably put too much flux in the first place. Tacked and thinned the joint 3/32" rod and completed the fillet with 1/8".

Pictures below are "as is" right after hot water soak. I did some destructive tests to check out the strength. I hammered as hard as my vise and bench set up could take and it held! Did some cross sectioning and I'm happy with the brass distribution albeit I might like a little bit more fillet for a structural bike frame joint. My fillet was about 3x the thickness of the thinnest tube.

Feel free to comment!

My first brazed joint-p3260083.jpg

My first brazed joint-p3260082.jpg

My first brazed joint-p3260085.jpg

My first brazed joint-p3260086.jpg

My first brazed joint-p3260087.jpg

My first brazed joint-p3260092.jpg

edit: spelling!
    Last edited by frankzetank; 03-28-2013 at 05:17 AM.

Nemophilist
    Heck;