mtbr member
    Oct 2010

More than Interested

I have lurked here for a while and state this in the most humble way.

I have a profound respect for you builders and have caught the bug and want to learn to build as well. Not entirely sure to what extent, but I know that i want to give it my best shot.

I have some sculptural experience and a good working knowledge of wood and metal fabrication. I am an artist by trade and have become stale producing digital imagery and yearn to use my hands once again. Teaching art is my full time job and I see no reason to quit that, so I want to learn and build as time permits. I would love to apprentice during the summer, take a class (way expensive), and begin to acquire tools and the needed materials.

My approach would be simplistic and purposeful design with an artistic flair, focusing on MTB, then cross, then commuter, then road. Ambitious I know...

I have found a few classes, but nothing cost effective (my budget). I would love to trade, clean, mop etc. for a chance to learn. Is there a builder close by to Nashville TN that would be up for this?
    Or, where would you point me?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Well, sounds like you are on the right track and I could be wrong but I don't think there is anyone really local to you.

As you know, taking an apprentice is often more time consuming for the teacher than the student. Best bet if you can't go somewhere is to hit your local bike shop/scene and see if there is anyone local to you and begin from there. Show up a lot!

I have said it before but I get many people coming by saying they want to be the next apprentice. Out of all these years, one guy came by more than 2 times and he became an apprentice. One.... I am not saying this about you but apprenticeship is essentially dead.. Not because the teachers don't want to teach but the students don't want to learn.