Thread: Kids BMX parts

mtbr member
    Jan 2006

Kids BMX parts

I'm new to frame building, and new to fatherhood, and I'm trying to tie the two together. I'd like to build my boy a small BMX bike, but am having trouble finding parts (and geometry, for that matter). Does anyone know of a source for short cranks, small wheels or rims (16", maybe even 12"?), and any/all other parts in kid size? Thanks in advance,

Forrest

Framebuilder
    Google "mini" and "micro" BMX, there's a big part of the industry that caters to these little bikes....they aren't cheap though!

Old school BMXer
    How old is your son?
    May the air be filled with tires!

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    For short cranks have a look here - http://faqload.com/faqs/bicycle-comp...ranks-for-kids. A google or fleabay search for Sinz should give you some options from 125mm crank length and upwards.

mtbr member
    First, are you going to build a freestyle or race frame?

I know quite a bit about BMX bikes in general so feel free to PM me with questions because I love answering them!
    My motorcycle runs on infant blood

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Thanks for the information and resources. I found plenty of examples of micro and mini BMX bikes complete with geometry. I haven't found 16" wheels yet, but they must be out there. My boy is barely walking, so I'm looking ahead. The crank info page is great. And without having thought it out, I'd learn towards race geometry - do you have a suggestion? Thanks again,

Forrest

Old school BMXer
    I've seen kids as young as 2 - yes 2 - at nationals racing on 18" wheeled bikes. Many 3 and 4 year olds are on 20" bikes, and by about late age 4, most all of the serious racers are on 20" bikes. Yeah, there are 16" bikes on the market, but none that are built for racing. The 20" bikes the 4 year olds are racing weigh significantly less than any production 16" bike. So what I'm saying is that you really won't find a 16" race bike.