mtbr member

First frame building project - what I learned as a noob

So my first frame project is going on (see here) and so is the learning process. This forum has been so helpful to my progression that I feel like wanting to give something back. So the goal of this thread is to share what I learned in MY process. YMMV.

To give you some background, I started as a total noob with respect to welding/brazing. I do have some mechanic background and fairly extensive bike mechanic experience.

I have what I would qualify as a basic work shop with most hand tools (hacksaw, files, bench vise, etc) and some power tools (abrasive cut off saw, drill press, hand and bench grinder) but I have no access to heavy metal working equipment (milling, lathe, bending or rolling tubes)

I started this as a hobby and have no plan to make a business out of this. I plan to build 1-3 frames a year. I have no plans of making forks. My main and so far only planned building method is fillet brazing and silver brazing for the braze ons. I don't plan to TIG nor to use lugs. I made this choice based on versatility, initial investment and learning curve.

I used a full on 3D CAD software to model my first few frames and although this has helped me a lot for planning, it is absolutely NOT essential as many have proved out on this forum. Once I get more comfortable with frame layout in general, I plan on using BikeCAD exclusively.

So all that being said, what did I learned so far?

If I started over again, here is what I would do differently:

• Buy a smaller aircraft type torch set right from the start. I knew I was only going to build bike frames. I already feel how big and clunky my auto part store torch is.