steel is real

Changing "hooded" dropouts

I ride a custom small Spot brand frame with "hooded" track style horizontal dropouts and I would like to change to a vertical dropout with derailleur hanger. I have plenty of fabrication experience with motorcycle frames and old cars, but I don't have a TIG setup to do this with.

So, would any of you frame builders be interested in taking this on for me?

Again, going from something like this:
    Name:  DR2020.jpg
Views: 505
Size:  8.9 KB

To this:
    Name:  DR2001FC.jpg
Views: 468
Size:  10.3 KB

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004
    Replacing hooded drops that are joined with TIG is a HUGE pain. Just weld a derailleur hanger onto the existing horizontals and call it good.

-Walt
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

steel is real
    I thought about doing that Walt... and that may end up being my solution. Do you say it's a huge pain because of the cleanup involved and the possibility of re-coping the tubing?

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004
    It's almost impossible to remove the old dropouts and leave enough material to join the new dropouts (unless they're significantly bigger, and even then it sucks a lot). Can it be done? Yes. Will it be worth the cost (major, major time and effort)? No way.

-Walt
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Any reason that Problem Solvers Chain Tensioner/Derailleur Hanger wouldn't work?

Universal Cycles -- Problem Solvers Chain Tensioner/Derailleur Hanger
    Oh noes. I'm going to drink the Kool-Aid.

mtbr member
    Do the hooded spots have the back plate for belt drive? If they do, you could probably modify the back plate to hold the hanger (maybe, I'm thinking out loud here). It's been a long time since I built a frame with the Spots.

steel is real
    Quote Originally Posted by jcaino View Post