mtbr member

Anyone interested in a "How to Paint Your Frame" video/article walk-through?

I'm an automotive custom painter, and I've just gotten into the idea of building my own frame, so I've been crawling all over this section of the forum soaking up all the info I can find. What I've noticed though is that people don't seem to talk about paint or powdercoating very much. Obviously it's a big part of the whole frame project, but it seems many don't know how to do it themselves. There is a lot of info out there already, but not a lot if any directly related to bikes.

Of course paint is my particular area of expertise, so I thought I'd ask... Would anyone be interested in a write-up and accompanying video? If so, is there any specific process you would like to see? I know people are usually receptive to how-to articles, but I wouldn't want to put the whole thing together here if a lot of people either aren't interested or if there is a better area or forum to put that kind of info.

My idea is pretty simple - take a bare frame and work through prep, priming, base coat with multiple colors (logos), clear, and finishing.. showing each step along the way.

What do you guys think?

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    You've left off the environmental regulations and safety issues, which are some of the biggest issues preventing the at-home builder from doing their own. It's not trivial. While your idea may be simple, I think you would be doing the readers a disservice making it seem so simple.

mtbr member
    I can certainly go into the legal and safety end of things if that's what you guys would like to see.

Safety is easy to cover. There are concerns of course, but beyond using basic PPE and constructing correct ventilation, there are no major hazards.