Mtbr's 2016 Winter Biking GearReviews and Roundups

FAT BIKES

WINTER APPAREL

TRAINERS

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2004

aluminum welding for cracked frame?

i've got a cracked 03 RM Switch Ltd. that's a year out of warranty. It blows, I know, so I've been sulking and feeling guilty about thrashing that baby for a few weeks, but now I just want to get back out on a ride! Anyone know anything about where I should go from here? Should I try to get in touch with a local framebuilder or could I just go with a general aluminum welder? I was referred by a local bike shop to talk to Frank the Welder at Sinister Bikes. Any idea on how long this welding would take or cost?

Thanks, and thrash it hard!

pronounced may-duh
    I would go back to where you bought the bike or to the manufacture. Even out of the warantee period a good shop / bike company will make you a deal on a replacement frame. Remember it never hurts to ask.

As for repair, I'm no expert but I would be wary of a repaired aluminium frame.

since 4/10/2009
    Aluminum can't be re-welded to its original strength like steel can. If you weld it, it will be barely any stronger than not, and you run the risk of a major breakage. I would just replace the frame rather than attempt to repair it.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by somewhat_absent
    I was referred by a local bike shop to talk to Frank the Welder at Sinister Bikes. Any idea on how long this welding would take or cost?

I agree with the guy who said you should talk to the manufacturer, warranty or not. Frank the Welder is legendary and should be able to fix your frame - although if it's 6061 the heat-treating might be a problem. I agree with the guy who said you should talk to the manufacturer, warranty or not. I'd get an estimate for both a replacement and a repair. The manufacturer may let you have a frame at cost,

Lopen is sneller....
    Oct 2003