pvd
    mtbr member

The 'advice post'

I figure that I should post this here as it should get here eventually....

Bits of advice for the aspiring framebuilder | Peter Verdone Designs

Bike Freak
    I saw your post on the framebuilders group on facebook and was wondering when it would end up over hear as well.

Great article and unfortunately it seems to have fallen on deaf ears over there.
    My bikes [Fe][C]ycles

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Great read !
    don't tell me, "Show Me " !

Randomhead
    Sep 2008
    it's a connundrum for a lot of people, build or ride? I have build a lot of frames, but I'm a rank beginner as far as MTB frames go. In any event, my philosophy in life is that everyone has something to teach me. That's one reason I always try to make friends with the janitors

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    I read this last night. Great stuff. My shtick is road bikes and derivatives -- I don't (and won't) build MTBs. I'm keeping my focus narrow and to where my experience lies. 35 years of riding and racing, plus a ton of study of geometry has educated me on bike design. In my case, though, it's that basic metal fab stuff that needs my attention. I'm starting slow, never intend to make this a full-time gig, and am willing to let the growth be organic.

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004
    I like it - especially the part about staying in the game of actually riding what you build. Too many folks out there with geometry ideas set in stone from 10 or 15 years ago - hell, how many times is ANY aspect of frame geometry actually discussed in an article about a builder or on a builder's site? They all have some boilerplate about "fit is key" but fit is basically easy. Putting the wheels where they need to go and getting all the other aspects of the design right so that you and your bike can handle the terrain you want ideally to is much, much harder.