locked - time out

Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock

I've never done this before. Wish me luck!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-imageuploadedbytapatalk1310864493.389899.jpg  

Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-imageuploadedbytapatalk1310864595.540465.jpg  

locked - time out
    Quote Originally Posted by iheartbicycles View Post
    I've never done this before. Wish me luck!
    So my rebuild yesterday was partially succesful. I used 5 weight oil, but really should have used 2.5 weight. Also, putting the XTD Air back together is more difficult than on the coil version, and I ended up with air in the oil.

I will rebuild again tomorrow with lighter weight fluid and be more careful on reassembly.

Overall, I feel rebuilding this shock at home is doable - but does require some special tools and parts.

I bought a strap wrench from Sears for $14.00 and a pair of L bend needle nose pliers for the job. I actually bought a few more tools than this, but the ones that worked are the ones above

Here's some pics below. My goal was to lube up all interfaces to attain smoother action and to fine tune the internal floating piston for more precise bottom out.

The shock did feel immediately smoother after the rebuild.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-strap-wrnch.jpg  

Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-air-chamber-eposed.jpg  

Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-partly-disasembld.jpg  

Rebuilding A Curnutt Air Shock-unscrewing-cap-needle-nose.jpg  

locked - time out
    So my rebuild yesterday was partially succesful. I used 5 weight oil, but really should have used 2.5 weight. Also, putting the XTD Air back together is more difficult than on the coil version, and I ended up with air in the oil.

I will rebuild again tomorrow with lighter weight fluid and be more careful on reassembly.

Overall, I feel rebuilding this shock at home is doable - but does require some special tools and parts.