Thread: XC Racing Tips

mtbr member
    May 2016

XC Racing Tips

My son has taken up HS Mountain Biking and really loves it. Now he wants to try some of the local races in the off-season and I am thinking of joining him.

Probably 3 hour races on 8+ mile XC trail loop. Nothing to technical from what I can tell.

Any tips for starting racing after 50? I have never done it before. My thought was to get 2 laps in while my son does 3-4. Climbing is just the death of me.

Also, I am in the need for a new bike, would you go XC Bike? or trail?

IE Trek Top Fuel or EX? I tend to stay on the ground now as a preference.

This would be in GA.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    I have never been to Georgia, and personally would not enter a xc race Generally I suggest buying a bike that will help improve your weak points, while still being suitable for the majority of your riding. I don't want to break it to you, but at 50, it is unlikely that you will be picked up by a pro team. Maybe something that is a bit slacker, but pedals well. The Top Fuel has a 70 head angle, which is pretty steep, even for a xc race bike.
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

Formerly of Kent
    Top Fuel with a 120mm 34. And a dropper. Still a sub-25lb bike you can take everywhere but the gnarliest of trails or jump lines.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
    Death from Below.

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    I wouldn't get a XC Race bike unless you are dedicated to racing.

Formerly of Kent
    Quote Originally Posted by ddoh View Post
    I wouldn't get a XC Race bike unless you are dedicated to racing.
    There's nothing inherently wrong with a short travel bike. It won't handicap a skilled rider.

Death from Below.

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Le Duke View Post
    There's nothing inherently wrong with a short travel bike. It won't handicap a skilled rider.