Destiny Is All

Riding with a hernia.

Went to the doctor for my checkup, and found out I have a hernia in my right groin area. Right now, it's not causing me any major discomfort. The doctor said I could wait till fall for the surgery and continue riding. Recovery time from the surgery would be 4-5 weeks, so I'd like to wait. Trouble is, now I keep thinking about it while I'm riding. I know enough to not try to lift any heavy trees off the trail. Looking for some insight/advice.

mtbr member
    Recovery from a typical laparoscopic inguinal hernia repair would be about two weeks for road biking, 4 weeks to start basic singletrack. I've had a left inguinal hernia for about 3 years. It only bothers me occasionally, but not biking. I'll probably get it fixed some day. Or not.

I'm a laparoscopic and robotic surgeon. Fixing hernias is one of the most common things I do.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuyuna View Post
    ...I'm a laparoscopic and robotic surgeon. Fixing hernias is one of the most common things I do.
    Could that potentiate fixing your own?
    Do the math.

Destiny Is All
    Recovery from a typical laparoscopic inguinal hernia repair would be about two weeks for road biking, 4 weeks to start basic singletrack. I've had a left inguinal hernia for about 3 years. It only bothers me occasionally, but not biking. I'll probably get it fixed some day. Or not.

I'm a laparoscopic and robotic surgeon. Fixing hernias is one of the most common things I do.
    Thank you so much. I'll wait.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Lone Rager View Post
    Could that potentiate fixing your own?
    Yes, but only if I was awake, so, no.....

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bilbo56 View Post
    Thank you so much. I'll wait.
    The three reasons to get an inguinal hernia fixed are pain, incarceration, or the fact that it will only get bigger with time, never smaller, (the bigger they are, the harder they are to fix).