mtbr member

Fisher Ferrous vs Felt Nine Pro

Just need a little insight here. I'm tired of the 26" FS world. I want a solid 29" HT that will need little maintenance, or upgrades. I'd prefer steel, but I also want no-nonsense components. Here's how I see it:
    - Felt Nine Pro - perfect specs (for my needs), but an aluminum frame...not so bad, but I'd prefer steel...
    - Fisher Ferrous 29 - decent specs (not up to snuff w/ the Felt), a superb steel frame, but with EBB ( remember I don't want maintenance hassles & b.s....no squeeks/ creaks!!)
    I want vertical, geared- specific dropouts...not interseted in SS, or rigid. If the EBB is a pain in the arse, I don't want it. I could always get the Felt, then buy a steel frame later on ( Vassago Bandersnatch, err-um). Anybody care to chime in?
    Thanks
    Last edited by go-pirates; 06-01-2007 at 08:40 PM.

i also unicycle
    Jan 2007
    i like the felt, though i have little experience with the fisher.
    mtbr says you should know: i work in a bike shop.
    bikes & beers (on my blog) http://idontrideenough.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    i have a fisher ferrous and love it to death. All around the bike is great for climbing and downhill- super stable and a blast to ride

I just passed you

Ferrous

I sell both Fishers and Felts. If you are all excited about the Felt spec, I understand. Understand too that the Felt has a foreign made , aluminum frame. Good frame, BUT the Ferrous has a True Temper OX Platinum American made frame; much better frame.

My two cents:

If you want to ride the Felt for a couple years and get the latest and greatest down the road, it's a good decision.

If you want to keep the bike for a long time, fall in love with the steel ride and maybe even repaint it in the future. The Ferrous is a good decision.

I personally love my Ferrous. Damn smooth ridin' and killer geometry.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007

lol