mtbr member

Felt the Love on Pemberton Today

Hi All,
    Been lurking here a while and really enjoy the tips, experiences, and stories everyone shares so I 'm sorry that my first post here is a rant but I have to get this off my chest.
    I have one word for the guy who blew past me on Pemberton today...THANKS. I was on the side of the trail with my bike flipped upside down, back wheel off, fixing a flat. I didn't see him coming. Just saw the back of him. Maybe it's me. Maybe it's because I'm a nurse and I care about people, but I can't believe he just flew by me. I travel with my job so I always ride alone, which is fine. I've thought about the possibility of getting stuck on a trail alone. But I always told myself that someone would probably pass by and offer to help. Not any more. Not after today. I can't count the number of times I've passed someone stopped on a trail and slowed down to ask if they're ok. And those people and their bikes were upright. I was doing fine fixing my flat but I would think that someone with their bike in pieces on the side of a trail at least deserves a "Hey, are you ok?".
    I'm sorry for ranting. I don't want to p*ss anyone off. But it really made me mad; then disappointed.

Shovel Ready
    That is just one individual. I always ask if things are ok when someone is paused on a trial. As do the people I ride with! Had a nurse insert a sensor for a glucose monitor today. She was rude, but I won't hold that against all nurses! It is sad to hear some don't have a care in the world for others.

Better luck on the next ride. There really our some great people/riders here in Arizona!
    Currently at Mayo Clinic being tested for a kidney transplant. Donors welcome.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004