mtbr member
    Aug 2007

2006 Felt Virtue 4 and 2005 Specialized Epic with upgrades

I have been riding road bikes for 3 years now but a total newbie to mountain biking.... looking for a bike for adventure racing and offroad triathlons. I am about 5'9", weigh about 160lb and my budget is about $1500.

My preference was to get a used bike through Craigslist and came across a 2005 Spec Epic which has been upgraded with Juicy 5 disc brakes, Easton handlebar. The owner is asking for $1400 which seems like a reasonable deal.

I also checked out my LBS and found that they are selling a new Felt Virtue 4 at a steep discount as it was a demo bike. With some further 20% off deal, I migth get the bike for about $1300.

I have ridden both bikes but can't decided on which one "feels" good. I have searched and read some reviews for the Epic but haven't found much on the Felt Virtue 4 as its a new line of bikes. I understand that I might have to do some upgrades on the Felt later. Any suggestions would be very appreciated!

Update: I test rode the Felt again today. Also talked to the store helper and turns out that I can not use a 20% off coupon on this bike. So the cost of this Felt Virtue 4 would be $1480 which still seems to be a reasonable price for the configuration.
    Last edited by catcherintherye; 08-12-2007 at 07:33 PM.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    I was just browsing the forums, but I thought I'd give a quick reply.

I hope you went with the Felt! I have had mine for about a month now and have put it through all sorts of riding conditions short of chairlift/shuttle runs and it has exceeded all of my expectations. Recently, I have "discovered" some singletrack in the local area with some ridiculously rooty and off-camber uphill sections that I thought would make my rear tire slip. Nope, the Felt sucked it up and not even a hint of slip.

Cheers.

Felt Fat Tire Guy
    Nov 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by XC Only
    I hope you went with the Felt!