mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Wintertime riding - what shoes or boots and socks do you wear?

I am a fatbike newbie within the last 6 weeks. Thoroughly hooked! I live in Michigan. The last several years the winters here have be relatively mild, and last year we really didn't have a winter. As a result I was able to stay riding, on my MTB and/or Cross. The temps allowed me to use heavy UA socks and my Five Ten shoes.

This year is a different story. Colder temps limit this footwear combination to about an hour of ride time. Now that I have a Moonlander, I can ride in conditions and to places that this footwear combination probably isn't appropriate/suitable for, especially if I breake down and need to walk out.

I use some Shimano MX80 pinned flat pedals on my moonie.

For those of you that ride regularly in the winter, at temps below 20 degress, what footwear and socks do you use? Is there footwear that still allows some sense of ones foot on the pedal?

My Cat boots are plenty warm, but do not transmit any sense of the pedal. I'm a size 13 EEE, and I have to be careful because the heel of my boot hits the derailleur with each pedal revolution.

Care to share what you are doing?

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Probably should do a search, but check out the 45NRTH Wolvhammers or the Lake winter boots. I have the 45NRTH's and ride a lot in temps well below zero.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012