Loser

Weght weenies and spend thrifts unite - help me design a budget fatty

I am not normally a weight weenie, I prefer durability over weight on my bike builds to date. I am starting to pull together parts for a new fat bike that will be focused on lowest possible weight at the lowest possible price point. I'm looking for any and all "hacks" to make this possible. I am a good mechanic and don't mind messing around to make things work, as long as they REALLY work.

I don't see a need for anything bigger than 4" tires, BUT I think I will want to use a 190 frame just in case my opinion changes down the road. 4" seem to be about perfect around here and I use it probably more on dirt than snow (open to opinion on that). Will a 190 frame make things more expensive? I guess its only hubs.

Frame: probably going with a Ti or carbon China direct frame
    Fork: one of the carbon forks out there (plenty to choose from)
    Handlebar, stem, seatpost: China direct stuff
    Crankset: SRAM with a spiderless 30T ring
    Brakes: ???? I have a set of BB7s in the bin, seems like I could do better
    Cassette: 11-36 SRAM
    Rear derailleur and shifter: probably XT or SLX (its what I have on other bikes and I like to keep my parts bin simple)
    Wheels: again hoping for a China direct rim option, but I see the HED and other options out there now, this alone will bust the bank! Not sure on "acceptable" hubs - but probably go down the Hope road if I can't find anything better/cheaper. I think you can go really cheap on a front hub, not so on the rear hub.

Constructive comments welcomed!
    Big Strings, Big Wheels, The Jisch Blog

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    What is the actual weight and money spent goal? It will be hard to offer suggestions without a definitive budget.

Loser