mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Wanting to switch Pugs shifters to thumb shifters..suggestions

Im looking to change my trigger shifters over to thumbies..anyone have any input on brands or why not to? Thanks
    Last edited by hummbusa; 09-05-2012 at 03:47 PM. Reason: Spelling

mtbr member

Good job!

While not on a Pugsley (yet) I've had really good results using the 9spd Dura-Ace bar end shifters and Pauls Thumbies mounts.

I've had them on two bikes now (MTB and Gravel Grinder). I run them with an LX derailer and a SRAM 990 cassette. The front shifter is a friction shifter so that works well for fine tuning for chain rub...

From what I understand, the road 10spd will not match up with the MTB 10 spd, but the 9spd stuff does. I have no experience with 10 spd... Didn't try mixing Shimano shifters and SRAM derailers...

Hope this helps...

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I have 9 speed dura ace bar end shifters run in friction mode with Velo Orange thumbie mounts. Very happy with this combination, nicest shifters I've used and very easy to set up. If you run in friction mode the should work with just about any front and rear mech combinations.

I can't be bothered to set up indexing so I have Suntour XC and deore thumbies on other bikes and they work well too, but the dura-ace/VO combo has an extra certain something.

mtbr member
    I'm interested to see if Surly begins to offer the Microshift shifters that are standard on the Moonlander and Necro. I'm interested in making the change over also. I used Paul thumbies (prior to being hinged) with some Dura-Ace DT shifters. The idea was awesome, but the throw on the DT levers on the thumbies was a bit more than I was comfortable with. I have a set of DA barcon's that I will mount to the new hinged thumbies if I can't source or trade for some microshifters

IIRC Shimano Bar end shifters will not work in index mode with Sram derail's, but will work with shimano derail's

Harrumph
    Just for a dissenting opinion.