mtbr member

SURLY OD Crank on a Muk

I'm a newb when it comes to a lot of this stuff so I have a few questions if someone can help me out. I'm looking to replace my crank on my 12' Muk. I'm looking at the SRAM X5 and the Surly OD, I'm leaning towards the Surly because according to Salsa it provides a bit more space. I'm wanting to run a BFL in the rear to match the one I just mounted up front. If I buy the Surly OD is it just a plug and play deal or would I need to get other parts to make it work? I wasn't sure if I needed a new derailer etc. My Muk is currently bone stock.

Thanks for the help!
    2015 Specialized Fatboy Comp
    2014 Trek Fuel EX8
    Lusting after a Niner RLT9.
    http://tincup69.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Depends which OD you get, the Pugs or Moonlander one. I got the Moonlander, as I wanted enough clearance to get around a Lou on a Clownshoe. So I have to get the Moonlander Front Deraileur mount as the one that came with my Muk wasn't wide enough to get to the big gear on the crankset. I assume if you got the Pugz one (which I assume would be all you would need with a BFL), you could use the stock Problem Solvers FD adaptor, and need nothing new to make this work.

mtbr member
    The OD I was looking at was the Moonlander one. Was there a big difference in the Q factor going to the OD crank? Do you have any pictures of your set up? Your bike sounds exactly like what I want to do.

Is this the derailer mount you are talking about? Amazon.com: Problem Solvers Direct Mount Front Derailleur Adaptor for Moonlander 34.9mm clamp w/ shims: Sports & Outdoors
    2014 Trek Fuel EX8

Dr Gadget is IN