mtbr member
    Jan 2016

New question here. Single versus Double Chainring

Hi, i am new to fatbikes and love it riding daily.
    I am happy with my 36-22, 10 speeds with 11-36 cassette.(Fatboy)
    I am curious if my next fat is 1 chainring will i save a pound or what?
    The going simple is that a fad?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Feb 2015
    1x11 just works - period. No it's not a fad.
    You lose the weight, the gear ratio redundancy and you can still climb anything.
    You will see 2x become less and less common.

mtbr member
    Dec 2014
    Use the search feature!

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Not a fan of 1x11. The low is not low enough, the high is not high enough. Perhaps it is good for fit skinny guys, but it has serious compromises for "men of substance" who ride in the hills. IMO it does not shift as smoothly as my 3x10, nor does it have the smaller jumps between cogs. Front derailleurs work flawlessly when adjusted properly and shifted with a little care. 1x11 has its place, but is not the "be all, end all" of gearing solutions. On the upside, the 1x11 is very light and the single ring allows for tire clearance that you won't get on a 3x system.

Ambassador of Fatness
    Quote Originally Posted by paxfobiscum View Post
    Use the search feature!
    This. A lot has already been posted on this topic.

However, I'll add that there are a lot of variables - what kind of terrain do you ride? How fit are you? Etc, etc. Ultimately, no one can really answer the question for you. Some people ride 3x11, some people ride singlespeeds. And many people ride something in between.
    "The only way we can truly control the outcome of a ride is not going on it, which is a choice I'm unwilling to make." -K.B.

Professional Crastinator