mtbr member
    Jan 2004

PF Bottom Bracket in Carbon Beargrease. Does it Worry You?

I don't own a bike with a PF BB frame but I've heard/read that they can be troublesome (creaky) My post is two part: Does this system really cause as much noise as I've heard? And, does the PF system make you hesitate to purchase the new bike, assuming, of course you're considering purchasing this bike?
    There are three kinds of people: those of us that are good at math and those that are not.

will rant for food
    Jan 2010
    Anything can creak when improperly installed, so I guess "no".

I see PF / BB30 / etc as an analogue to threadless headsets. I've had some threaded and threadless headsets creak, and it had to do with bad installation or plain old wear from use.

That said I have no practical experience with threadless bottom brackets so what do I know...
    Latitude: 44.93 N

addicted to chunk
    My trek fuel ex9 has a PF BB in it. No creaks. I wouldn't hesitate to use a frame that had it, as long as there are cranks available that fit.
    Riding.....

mtbr member

PF Bottom Bracket in Carbon Beargrease. Does it Worry You?

Agreed. The issue is that they aren't being installed quite right, and will make noise....and this probably happens a lot because they are newish. Wouldn't keep me from buying one, but would keep me from letting the 19 year old at the LBS work on it...not that I would do that at all anyway....just an example.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Seen plenty that were factory installed making godawful noise inside 6 months. Regardless of brand, on road, off road, they all "fail" faster than any threaded BB I've ever met, in 30+ years playing with them.

So unless the manufacturers can't install them properly either, I'm going with them being crap.

They fix nothing, solve nothing, and simply allow for your bike to need to be serviced more frequently.

Gee, what a great "solution" to a problem nobody had.....