mtbr member
    Dec 2017

Origin8 Crawler - Change NuVinci N360 to a Derailleur

Good Morning,

This is a great forum and I have been lurking around for quite some time.

Yes Newbie here. I have been trail riding for many years with my trusted Specialized Epic and do all maintenance myself.

The other day a supplier friend of mine sold me his Origin8 Crawler, which has the NuVinci N360 rear hub. The Rear Hub Spacing is 135mm with a slight offset. It is my understanding that I can change that Rear Hub to a Derailleur. I would love to find out what setup would work.

I appreciate all the input. While the Nuvinci is very smooth and seems reliable (only ridden it once - 15 miles), I think I like my derailleur better.

Thank you again

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Any 135mm hub with a 9/10/11 speed cassette and a matching derailleur/shifter will do the job, nothing fat bike specific about that setup.

mtbr member
    Dec 2017
    Cool, I was hoping for that. I have been doing a lot of research online and could not find anything. In visually lining up the tire chain and what not it just seemed awful tight, but it sounds like that is more of an optical illusion. Thank you so much

since 4/10/2009
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclone3565 View Post
    Cool, I was hoping for that. I have been doing a lot of research online and could not find anything. In visually lining up the tire chain and what not it just seemed awful tight, but it sounds like that is more of an optical illusion. Thank you so much