mtbr member
    Sep 2004

New Fatback Build - from the colorado front range

2011/2012 has been a great biking year for me. I started riding in 1994 with a Keith Bontrager ( boneshaker) racelite hardtail. I REALLY got into Ibis Ti bikes starting in 2002with my Bow-ti, but I started to notice they collected too much dust and I wasn't riding them.

For my 40th, my wife bought me a used Mooto-XZ 29er dualie frame. I built it up and rode the hell out of that thing this summer and sold all my Ibis Ti 26" bikes too.( I also sold my Ibis Road 55cm that was too small for me and bought a used 57cm Moots Cross bike..what can I say, I can't stay out of the dirt) I started to realize, if a bike isn't fun to ride..why own it?

Falling back in love with riding got me night riding for the first time in my life...I love it! But when the snow flew, I still wanted to ride. Solution, studded tires! I purchased a pair of Schwalbe Ice Spiker Pros ( For sale, btw). These worked well on ice but I punched through the snow and lost studs when I hit the dirt.

THEN..I found Fat Tire bikes here on MTBR. what a revelation! I spend most of my weekends in summit county and the trails we hike with the dogs are usually packed enough that snow shoes are not even needed. After some research I ended up with this...

2012 FatBack Cycles ride in size 20.

The Fatback just seemed to be a little better thought out than some of the other options.

- tapered headtub
    - carbon fork that has more clearance than needed for a BFL
    - perfect set of engineered external bottom bracket cranks
    - replaceable rear deraileur hanger
    - rear rack mounts
    - AWESOME orange anodized finish!
    - great cable routing
    - USA made!