mtbr member
    Apr 2016

New Bluto 120 RCT3 - Need setup/break-in advice

Hi all,

I picked up my first fat bike this December so I'm still new to the world of New England fat biking and to say that I caught the "bug" is an understatement. I'm having tons of fun and as the title indicates, I've got a few weeks on a new RS suspension fork. I'm impressed, but I am trying to figure out how to really dial it in.

First off, I installed it on a 2015 Salsa Blackborow, replacing a really nice carbon rigid fork which worked great in the snow. The Bborow is going to be my full time bike this year so it's an exciting upgrade that has already got me developing a major permagrin as things are drying out. It's rolling on 100mm Clownshoes with (Spilt-Tube) Tubeless Lou 4.8's. Running rigid, my air pressures range from 4.5 - 6.5 depending on conditions. I'm sure that will change with the warm weather coming and I ride pretty aggressively so I would also like to run different wheels for the nicer conditions, but for the moment, this wide setup is all I've got.

For the Bluto, I went with the 120 for a few reasons... I was hoping to slacken the front end a bit for the steep bits as well as soften the landing on everything I try to huck off of and to help control things on the highspeed trail sections I always aim for.

I already love how it smooths everything out, but I don't really dig how linear the travel is. I'm 185lbs, geared up and I've got the sag at 30%. The small bumps are eaten up all day, but I bottom out quite a bit on the bigger stuff. Would adding bottomless tokens solve that? I haven't pulled it apart yet to see how many tokens it already has, if any. I am also not familiar with setting up the proper dampening speeds on a modern suspension fork so any advice you guys might have with that, I'd appreciate.

Thanks in advance,
    Keith

mtbr member
    Oct 2016