Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2012

Need Advice Befor i Purchase a Mukluk

Hi
    Im about to purchase my first fat bike that is probably a Mukluk 2 2014. Ive never fat biked before so I have no experience, im hoping I can learn from all of you. I intend to make it a daily commuter on the roads year round. I only ride 2km in but it’s a steep hill all the way. I will ride the bike on snow packed trails and logging roads in winter in varied conditions, we get a lot of snow, snow type ranges from deep soft powder to heaver wet snow. Also everywhere is a steep climb, not much xc around here. I need some advice please.

1/ The 2014 mukluk has a 170mm rear end and can only take a 80mm rim. Should I be purchasing a 190mm rear end bike to future proof it? Will the 170mm of the mukluk be limiting or out of date soon?

2/ assuming I get the mukluk. Should I upgrade the tires at purchase time with the LBS? I think they are the 3.8” should I put the 4.8 upfront? The fork will take it. It comes with an 80mm rim. What about the rear? Its 80mm rim? Is it worth putting on a 4.8” tire, im told it will clear the frame, just. Is it worth it?

3/ if I went for a 190mm bike, Will a 190mm hub, 100mm rim/5” tire be too much for climbing steep hills or commuting on the road and general winter trail riding considering it will often include long climbs.

Cheers for your advice
    kev

MaverickMotoMedia.com
    1. Purchase bike
    2. Ride.
    3. Don't Worry.
    Maverick Moto Media Motorcycles, Mountain Biking & Social Media Mgt
    Facebook Twitter Instagram

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    How much do you weigh?

mtbr member
    May 2012
    180 lbs

mtbr member
    May 2012
    180lbs

mtbr member
    Sep 2013