mtbr member
    Aug 2017

Motobecane Sturgis NX Review

My first fat bike, a 2018 Motobecane Sturgis NX, arrived last week and deserves a review. Other threads cover the Sturgis series, but the NX goes a bit under. I hope this thread leads to some good discussions on this bike (and hope no trolling and off-topicÖ one can hope)

Why this bike?

It was the cheapest ($1,100) entrance into having the new 197mm size rear axles for wider tires, is tubeless ready and has 1x11 drivetrain. It also already has 180mm rotors and internal cable routing. At least to me that was important. I have no experience with fatbikes and also considered the $500 bullseye Monster, but Iím sure this would have had too many limitations and in 1-2 years I would upgrade. The $2,000 (+shipping) Canyon Dude also seems to be a very good value, but as a novice I wasnít sure a better bike would really give me better riding for what I do. I also looked into front suspension bikes, but ultimately decided against it.

Use:

Main motivation for a fatbike was to have a snow sport and to go on the MTB trails and the dirt. No technical stuff with jumping etc. I also looked and tested LBS fatbikes like the Fatboy and Farley. But those prices would have made it a no-fatbike winter.

Size:

After measuring myself (6íand 34Ē inseam) and my existing bike about 100 times, I decided to order the L (19Ē) size and am happy with it. The only downside online is you are on your own with sizing. But the one LBS who only had an M size of the bike I looked at told me I have to put 50% (refundable) down for them to get an L, so that is not much better. The sizing chart and description from BD seems pretty good. It helped to have another bike that fits for measuring that out.

Purchase: