mtbr member
    Jul 2015

Issue with fork on mukluk

So I bought a new aluminum mukluk and I've been enjoying it. Problem is , last ride -Sunday - I noticed there is a little bit of play front to back with my carbon fork to frame fit. It's not sliding up and down in the frame, just front to back if that makes sense. So I'm bringing to the shop I bought it at tomorrow. I'm not a mechanic, would this be a bearing? Or the fork not tightened down in the frame? Big deal? No big deal?

Thanks

RAKC Industries
    Jan 2017
    Big deal on a carbon fork. The stem/headset is loose.

Sent from my XT1565 using Tapatalk
    Life on a bike doesn't begin till the sun goes down.

US partner for ITUO and Ravemen:
    www.rakcindustries.com

mtbr member
    i hope you didnt ride it like that and if it has alloy steerer you most likely would be fine
    16 Trek Farley 5 W/2XL snowshoe
    07 Kona Stab
    14 Specialized Fatboy
    04 Giant Simple
    04 SC V10

My Parts for sale link

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Could just be a loose/poorly adjusted headset, hard to tell without looking at it. Shop should get to the bottom of it pretty easily, but make sure to find out if a carbon steerer or not -> if carbon, a more in depth tear down/assessment is warranted.

My bet is that they owe you an apology for not doing a thorough job w/bearings before sending it on its way.

Once sorted -> enjoy your new bike! It's a really nice ride.

Good luck,
    Paul

mtbr member
    my guess is the headset is not preloaded enough before stem was snugged
    07 Kona Stab
    14 Specialized Fatboy
    04 Giant Simple
    04 SC V10

My Parts for sale link

mtbr member
    Jul 2015

Issue with fork on mukluk

It has an alloy Steerer tube, and yes I rode it unknowingly. I also put a new stem on it, but that should have nothing to do with the fork being loose in the frame, correct?

Harmonius Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by dcycleman View Post
    I also put a new stem on it,....