Chris Bling

How tough is a carbon Salsa Beargrease?

Hey folks,

I recently picked up a carbon Salsa Beargrease on trade for a set of wheels. I have an ICT for my main rid3, but thought a light carbon whip would be fun for more XC trails and longer climbs.

All that being said, how much abuse can they take? I am assuming they are pretty tough, but would love some real world experience from owners.

I tend to ride pretty hard and don't want to have to baby the bike.

Any thoughts would be great!

Here she is

Sent from my SPH-L720T using Tapatalk
    The obsession of wheels fused with the passion of cycling
    Affordable Custom Wheels

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    It couldn't possible be tough enough for a man of steel like you, but I tell you what I'm gonna do. I will trade you straight across for my tried and true time proven 2012 Mukluk. I've been riding it for 5 years now an I'm sure its gonna hold up.....
    Seriously that's a great looking bike. I'm sure that frame will hold up just fine. Salsa tends to overbuild their stuff, not knowing who is going to ride it.

Chris Bling
    Thanks for the offer Mac! I am glad you are confident it will hold up

I am planning to ride it like my Canfield Yelli Screamy so I guess we will see!

Hope some others join in. Pretty sure there are a few out there

Affordable Custom Wheels

The Dog.
    In my opinion, high quality carbon frames tend to be stronger than most metal frames out there. That being said, I did crack my original beargrease. I found a hairline crack on the downtube just in front of the BB cluster. Took it to the LBS and Salsa had a new frame in my hands within the week. The beargrease is one of the stiffest frames I have ever experienced. I say ride the sh*t out of it.

I did also put a hairline crack in my pugsley as well. Never cracked any bike but a fatbike. Well...except that time I hit a tree at 50 mph on a road bike.

Chris Bling
    Quote Originally Posted by Dogdude222 View Post