mtbr member
    Jul 2017

How do you use your fat bike?

I'm new to the idea of them, and I think I'd probably just use mine to ride during the winter, but I was wondering when the fat bike is the "must-use" bike in your life.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 6foot4 View Post
    I'm new to the idea of them, and I think I'd probably just use mine to ride during the winter, but I was wondering when the fat bike is the "must-use" bike in your life.
    We have to ride in a lot of mud, grass and loose gravel where I'm from. Fat bikes excel in wet conditions. They also grip tenaciously on the wet rocks and roots that are so common here.

And obviously sand....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How do you use your fat bike?-18238740_1278491155603357_628985025066575322_o.jpg  

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    I started with a diamondback recoil 29er. After two years found a framed minnesota and rode that around for like 6 months. Then came a trek farley 7 2017. I love my fat bike. I dont think ill go back to a "normal bike". The way the farley handles and drives. Its light. U can do anything and go anywher lol. I do alot of woods riding. Mud, trees, gravel, water. Its amazing what diff a wider tire makes.

mtbr member

predawn beach riding

Scout for sea turtle crawls, texting locations to teams
    that confirm, fence and potentially relocate nests after sunrise.
    How do you use your fat bike?-predawnbeach.jpg

mtbr member
    May 2017
    I use mine to ride the mountain bike trails. Superior handling, comfortable ride. I don't ride it on the road, not even TO the mountain bike trails which are only about 5 miles from here. If you prefer to shred, buy a fat bike, stud the tires, put it away until it snows and ride your conventional mountain bike. If you like just cruising - dirt, gravel, mud, or regular old mountain bike trails, get a fat bike.

mtbr member
    Dec 2016