mtbr member
    Nov 2011

H-Bars and the like for technical riding?

I have been considering changing my Easton Carbon XC bar for something swept. I am kinda of scared that the swepted bars like Answer 20/20 or an H-Bar will not give me the same control. I have never used these types of bars so I wanted to get some advice. Don't want to upgrade to a set and then end up in a tree trying to maneuver a drop.
    Thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    I'm only a beginner at this, but I've been down some steep downhills and the H-bars let me keep things under control.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Either bar still provides you with lots of control... I'm a fan of the Jones bars and have several friends who have the 20/20 bar... Give it a go and let er rip!

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Loaded AmX! Power steering at its best...and in living color!

AmX Handlebar 790mm Width 25mm Rise 31.8 :: Loaded USA
    Get fAt, Stay fAt, Ride fAt
    Doctor recommended...

mtbr member
    if it helps: i like the bars for technical riding. i like the fact that if your grip forward, the position is 'narrower', great for jus' pedalin' and if you grip further back on the swept section your COG is moved a little further back and the weighting of the front wheel is changed - i think beneficially. how *much* sweep you like seems to be variable, but the 710 jones are my favourite by far.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Thanks guys. I found this Titec H-Bar and J-Bar Final Review | Bike Carson. Looks like I need to pick up either a Jones or Answer 20/20. I missed one on Ebay of 42 bucks!

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Salsa Bend 2's are nice choice too.

And ditto, I love them for technical riding.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Jan 2013