Flying Sasquatch

Framed Pub Hub hubs

So my Novatech rear is making noises already (kind of expected) so I'm probably looking at a new rear hub. From what I read the consensus is that the DT Swiss is the best option when considering reliability, maintenance, and strength. But the hub itself is $200+.
    And I saw that I can get a complete wheel from Framed with their PubHub hub on it for less than the DT Swiss hub by itself. Or even a complete front and rear wheel set with tires for the cost of a rear DT Swiss wheel.
    So my question is how durable are the Pub Hubs? The couple threads I did find on here seems to have favorable reviews, but I thought I'd ask for more people's opinions.

How much better would a DT Swiss Big Ride on a hand laced Mulefut be compared to a Framed Pro-X factory wheel? Would it be worth 2.5x the money?

mtbr member
    I've been running a Pub Hub Rear Hub since December of 2014. I own a Framed Alaskan Alloy and Framed Alaskan Carbon. The Alloy has 190mm rear spacing and the Carbon has 197mm rear spacing. The hub can easily be converted between either 190 or 197mm end caps.

I've been told that my Pub Hub is a pre-production model, and I've been told that that production version are a bit quieter. I've got about 1200 miles of winter riding on the Pub Hub and it's been rock solid and haven't had a single issue.

I also love the sound of it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dDFMZiNhYU

I heard that Framed encountered issues with a couple of hub earlier this year due to a manufacturing issue, but I've been informed that the issue has been resolved. So you shouldn't have any issues.

Framed has a great warranty and they stand behind the product they sell.

For the price of a rear wheel with the Pub Hub, I'm currently debating ordering a second rear wheel so that I don't have to convert my current rear hub depending on which bike I want to ride.