mtbr member
    May 2012

Foot Position Difference Platforms vs. Clipless

Do any of you alternate between clipless and platforms? When I switch to platforms my pedal tends to end up in the arch area in the middle of my foot, vs. being clipped in and having the pedal more forward, closer to the ball of my foot. For long rides this makes a difference in how I feel on the bike. When clipped in I feel like I need a setback seatpost because my seat is all the way back and I'm looking for more rearward adjustment. With platforms I am pretty comfortable on the seat but I don't think that's the best foot position for long rides, plus my foot can start to cramp a bit.

What have you experienced?
    Gettin' Fat!...That's Where It's At!

Maggot Brain
    Have you tried adjusting your saddle height? Maybe you need to raise it up a little bit for platforms? I'm no expert so take it with a grain of salt! I prefer platforms and find it very useful to be able to adjust where my foot is on the platform depending on conditions and climbing.

will rant for food
    Jan 2010
    farleybob I've made the same observations regarding foot position. As far as cramps... I don't get that far, but my foot is definitely more sore on flats.

It might have something to do with riding more "heavy on the pedals" with flats, in addition to a more flexible sole compared to SPD shoes. I am using Teva Links and Wellgo MG-1.

I've grown accustomed to being less pigeon toed and being clipped in now feels kinda awkward. Also my knee hurts less on flats which is supposed to be counter intuitive. YMMV!
    Latitude: 44.93 N

mtbr member
    It really depends on the pedals and shoes. I just did 3 months on flats just to "get back to basics".

I can't ride on rigid XC carbon soled shoes on eggbeaters - It hurts my feet whenever I go downhill (all weight and pressure in pedals --> pushes my foot forward in narrow lightweight race shoes).